Blueberry Muffins. YUMMO!

Posted: June 14, 2012 in From My Kitchen, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

My eldest daughter loves blueberries. When I buy them, she likes eating them straight out of the punnet before the end of the day…..sometimes hour…..then wonders why I didn’t buy more.
Me? Well I’m not the biggest fan, but I do like blueberry muffins!

image

I found this recipe a little while ago on a blog, but cannot for the life of me remember where. I am pretty sure it is a Donna Hay recipe, but I couldn’t find it on her website. I tell you what though, it is awesome, and I have made it a few times now with some variations.

Ingredients
2 1/2 cups self raising flour
1 tap baking powder
1 cup caster sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
1 two vanilla extract
300g blueberries
White sugar to sprinkle in top

Method
Preheat oven to 180C (350F)
Place dry ingredients in a bowl.
Whisk wet ingredients in a separate bowl, then add to dry. Mix til just combined.
Mix in blueberries.
Spoon into prepared 12 hole muffin tin, sprinkle with sugar, and bake for 30-35mins, or until golden and cooked through.

Note
Recipe calls for fresh or frozen blueberries, but I have had success with tanned ones. Just rinse a bit, and drain well. I also add chopped white chocolate sometimes for a yummy twist.
I also like them warm with vanilla ice cream, and maple syrup. Mmmmm.

image

image

Leave a Reply

