Scones 3 ways

Posted: March 17, 2012 in From My Kitchen, Recipes, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Today was the perfect baking day. The sun was nowhere to be seen, and instead the sky was filled with grey clouds and intermittent rain. So, like I said, the perfect day for baking.

I spent most of the afternoon in the kitchen making scones. Lemonade scones, m&m scones, and pumpkin scones. I used the same (well, almost) basic recipe for all three varieties too!

I used this very basic lemonade scone recipe, and altered it where appropriate.

3 cups Self Raising flour

1 cup thickened cream

1 cup lemonade

I combined all ingredients in a bowl, and used a bread and butter knife to mix into a sticky dough.

I turned the dough out onto a floured pastry mat and kneaded the dough until it became soft and smooth, rolled it out until it was about 3cm thick, then used a scone cutter dipped in flour to cut my scones.

Scones were baked in a 200 degree (celcius) oven for 12-15 mins, until lightly golden. You can tell if they are done as they sound hollow when you tap the bottom.



I used the exact same recipe and cooking directions for the m&m scones, and just added the m&ms while combining the other ingredients. I didn’t measure these, just put in what I thought would work.

For the pumpkin scones, I again used the same basic recipe, but substituted the lemonade for just over 1 cup of mashed pumpkin.

To prepare the pumpkin, I removed the skin and seeds, and chopped the flesh into large chunks. I placed these in a microwave safe bowl, and loosely covered in cling wrap. I cooked the pumpkin until it was soft, and easy to mash with a fork. I chose to cook it in the microwave, as I find it brings out the natural sweetness of the pumpkin, something I can’t achieve with boiling.

When the pumpkin was cool, I added it to the flour and cream, and combined them in a bowl, before turning out onto a well floured pastry mat. This dough was a lot wetter than the other batches, so I kept sprinkling self raising flour into the dough as I kneaded it, until it became nice and smooth, and was no longer sticky. Be sure to be gentle while doing this, as over kneading can result in tough/hard scones.


Of course, after all this hard work in the kitchen, it was really nice to sit down with a cup of coffee, and enjoy the fruits of my labour. I served the lemonade scones with jam and whipped cream, and we ate the pumpkin scones warm with butter. I also like golden syrup as an alternative on both the lemonade and the pumpkin scones. The kids at the m&m scones with nothing on them, but I think they’d be great with nutella πŸ˜€

Comments
  1. […] Scones 3 ways (amultifariousme.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Your scone variations are so fun! And I love the three ingredient scone recipe-can’t get much simpler than that! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks πŸ˜€ I had always attempted to make scones the traditional way with cold butter, and milk, but never got them right. This way, I always end up with a nice, soft, fluffy scone. It is also a very easy recipe to make with the kids πŸ˜‰

  3. […] Scones 3 ways (amultifariousme.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Kristin says:

    I just found your cute blog, I hope you’ll come and link up at my party, it ends at midnight tonight πŸ™‚

  5. six sisters says:

    Now these are some yummy scones!! We loved having you at “Strut Your Stuff Saturday.” We hope to see you again soon! -The Sisters

  6. […] A Multifarious MeΒ –Β Scones 3 ways […]

  7. Your scones are beautiful! Mine never raise like that, I will try your recipe for the lemonade scones and hope for the best. I will try and post my pics on my blog site as well, pogirlshines.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

