A match made in heaven.

Posted: February 26, 2012 in From My Kitchen, Recipes, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

This is not the way I would have thought to describe the combination of carrot and pineapple….but it really is! They go SO nicely together in the following recipe, that even my 7-year-old is in love!

Now, this is not my personal recipe, and admittedly I only looked into making these after my husband came home from work raving about some muffins that a co-workers wife made, so it is a bit of a “keeping up with the IT wives” scenario lol.

InΒ my Meal Planning post, I listed these as part of my baking, and obviously sparked some interest, so as requested by Katrina a.k.a. The Organised Housewife, I am sharing this recipe with you πŸ™‚

Carrot and Pineapple Muffins

Now, as I stated before, this is not my recipe, I found it over at Best Recipes after having a good old Google, and all I can say is WOW! I am totally not a carrot-type-cake person, but these muffins are delish! So moist, slightly sticky on top, and terribly moreish. I add a little extra cinnamon, because frankly, I LOVE the stuff in baked goods, but other than that, I don’t change a thing about this recipe.

Ingredients

1 cup plan flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp bicarb soda

2/3 cup brown sugar

1 carrot, finely grated

1/2 cup drained, crushed pineapple

2 eggs

2 Tbsp oil (I use vegetable)

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp mixed spice (I used all spice as it was what I had on hand)

The ‘how to’

Sift flour, baking powder and bicarb into a bowl. Add sugar and mix well.

Add grated carrot, pinapple, eggs, oil, cinnamon and mixed spice, and stir until just combined.

Spoon into greased muffin tray, or cupcake cases, and bake for 15-20mins at 180.

Stand for 5 mins, then cool on wire rack.

Enjoy πŸ™‚

Comments
  1. Caitibeth says:

    These look and sound really nice! I’m definitely going to have to make some.

  2. six sisters says:

    As a carrot cake lover, this is a wonderful idea! We are so glad that you linked up to “Strut Your Stuff Saturday.” Hope you’ll be back next week! -The Sisters

    • Thank you. As an Aussie, I am really liking the destinct ‘American Flavour’ (so to speak lol) of your blog, and all the recipes linked to it. It makes for a nice variation on what I am used to πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

