Things I forgot to blog #1: Our DIY TV cabinet makeover.

Posted: January 17, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

Ok, so I always take photos of things that happen around here, thinking I could blog them…..but then I get distracted by something pretty and shiny and forget all about them. So, I have decided that every so often, I need to go back through the photos and blog something worthy, that I had completely forgotten about.

First up: our TV cabinet makeover.

Now, I really can’t take much (ok, any) credit for this, as it was all hubby’s work. He went shopping for his new toys (50″ TV, new stereo and surround sound system, Bluray/DVD player…), he did all the manual labour etc etc. I just stood back and watched as he hacked up a perfectly good TV unit with power tools….in our dining area no less!!

Here is a before shot:

So anyway, after clearing it all out, and moving it, he set to work. Doors were removed, cabinet was measured up etc

Top was removed, and first cuts made

and as you can see, it all went from there πŸ™‚

And here is the final product:

Not bad for a weekend’s work. It’s not flashy or fancy, but it did save us another couple of hundred $$ by re-modelling what we already had. Would have been more if hubby didn’t buy a saw, and a glass cutter to use though πŸ™‚

The Organised Housewife
Comments
  1. Vicki Gordon says:

    Wow! we have a Rimu cabinet that is almost identical that is sitting in the spare room (with my craft gear all over it!) was our parents Wedding gift that I don’t want to part with. But was replaced with a cheapo cabinet when the big 50″ TV came along, I am thinking we should do the exact same and chop it down, awesome idea and perfect when we have been able to see one that some one else has done, thanks sooo much for sharing!!! p.s love reading your blog!

    • Awesome, glad you found the post helpful πŸ™‚
      I am really thrilled with the result, and it was a LOT easier that we first thought it might be (says me, the spectator lol).
      Now I am just hoping that one day, when we have our own home, I will be allowed to paint it white…then I’ll paint the matching bookcase….and coffee table….and anything else that is pine! Haha! It will be another mini makeover.

      Also, I am stoked you like reading my blog. Sometimes it’s hard to know what people think, so it’s nice to get some positive feedback.

  2. Ali Odgers says:

    Oooo I need to send this to my parents! That’s brilliant!

Leave a Reply

