Somewhere, over the rainbow

Posted: September 3, 2011 in Crafty Me, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,
I am on a journey. Destination? A completed Rainbow Dress for Miss C.
I am probably halfway there……just the knitting to go lol.
Note: This post is pretty much going to be all about the photos 🙂
8ply WOOLganic “blanks”
Soaking in a vinegar/water solution. Approx 80/20 for 2hrs
My 3 dyes. I mixed these up to roughly the desired strength, by testing
drops of colour on paper towel.
I added colours one at a time, and gently pressed and eased them into
each other, to achieve some blending.
All wrapped up and ready to cook. I did 2 mins on high, rest for 2 mins.
Repeat 2 more times.
Waiting for them to go cold……
……but couldn’t resist a peak lol
all rinsed out (not much residual dye)…..
…..and now waiting for them to dry.
Some tips:
1. Old towels are great for protecting the work surface, and mopping up spills.
2. Old towels, or paper towel, are great for soaking up excess liquid before wrapping up the yarn.
3. Use gloves!!
4. Have plenty of cling wrap on hand
5. Have everything ready to go before you start. I had all my colours on hand, my space set up, and several gloves to prevent mixing colours accidentally/leaving finger prints in unwanted areas.
6. Allow the yarn to cool completely before rinsing, and rinse gently.
7. Admire it! And be amazed by how clever you are hahaha!
Comments
  1. Kylie Jensen says:

    Hi Tanya where did you buy your blanks from?

  2. Tanya Knits says:

    Hi there Kylie.
    I purchased them from another member on Ravelry. She was selling off some of her yarn stash, and these were part of that. I was very lucky to score them 🙂

  3. Rebekah says:

    Beautiful! I love the dyeing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

