No Sew Tu-Tu

Posted: April 22, 2011 in Crafty Me, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,
My littlest girl is turning 4 next week, and we are having a fairy party on Monday, a few days early, to celebrate! I put it out there that the grown ups were free to dress up if they wished…..then realised that probably meant that I should lead by example. DOH!!!
I searched high and low online for a suitable outfit for this plus-sized body of mine, but everything was either SUPER expensive, or a bit to, *ahem* raunchy for a children’s party! 
(Note- when you Google “adult fairy costume” it tends to lead to ‘adult’ stores lol).
SO, i decided to make one!!!
Wings: $6 from The Reject Shop (came with wand, and super goofy looking sparkly headband with antennae things lol)
Blue Tulle, Black netting, black elastic: $17 from Lincraft
What do you think? It took me a good couple of hours (who would have thought tulle and netting could be such a bitch to cut straight!! lol). I googled how to do it and got THIS link…..shame I don’t look as good as she does in hers!
I’ll be teaming this little ensemble with a black singlet and leggings I got from target, my black Gaia shrug, and some cute little black ballet flats I have. 
Whole outfit for about $46…..and I have some new leggings and a new singlet to add to my winter wardrobe!! SCORE!! 
It was going to cost me at least $35 plus post for a me-sized tutu alone online!
Now that this is out of the way, I need to write a ‘to-do’ list for all my baking and decorating of cakes and cupcakes, and other assorted party food…..wish me luck!
Comments
  1. Reblogged this on A Multifarious Me and commented:

    An oldie, but a goodie…..I should make more tutus xx

  2. Random Knits says:

    I love the tutu. Its so cute.

Leave a Reply

