Bit of a catch up

Posted: April 20, 2011 in Crafty Me, Uncategorized

Well, I haven’t been blogging much of late, cos I have been a bit busy renewing my love affair with my needles and yarn. You see, it is school holidays here at the moment, so knitting has been rather a welcome distraction from all the arguing and whining my girls have been doing *rollseyes*

Anyway, throw a wedding, and some suddenly very cool weather in the mix, and I have been having a great old time creating.

First off the needles was my shrug for the wedding, that I briefly mentioned in a previous post.

Pattern Name: Gaia
Yarn: Malabrigo Silky Merino
Needles: Knit Picks/Knit Pro 9mm Interchangeables

So, I finished the shrug, and I thought it looked great with the dress, so off to the wedding we went. It was such a beautiful ceremony in the afternoon sun, followed by a gorgeous reception…..and possibly lots and lots of bubbly and wine on my part! Ooops! LOL. I received some lovely comments about the shrug, and a great time was had by all…….as can be seen in these photos:

Yep, that’d be me with the tongue out; the gals at the reception; and another reception pic showing my outfit, and my lovely hubby who was best man

But wait!! There’s more!!!

I have also been bust knitting for my kids, using a pattern that is part of a KAL over on Ravelry, in the Budding Designers Down Under group. The April KAL fetures patterns by Julia Stanfield, who’s blog can be found HERE.
I chose a knit from The Little Rascals E-book, and so far have completed 2 for the KAL, with a 3rd currently on the needles.

Pattern Name: Hotshot
Yarn (l-r): WOOLganic Worsted Merino; Mosaic Moon Gaia Bulky
Needles (l-r): 4.5mm; 5mm

Believe it or not, I knit both of these tops from the NB size directions, but the different gauge I got with each yarn and needle combination resulted in a 9-12month size on the left, and a size 4 with extra length on the right. I am really happy with how they both turned out, and the kids do look so very cute in them!

Leave a Reply

