Rainbow High Tea Part 3: The Rainbow Cake

Posted: May 13, 2012 in From My Kitchen
Tags: , , , , ,

Ahhhh, the cake. Anyone who really knows me, knows that I always do a special cake for my kids’ birthdays, and I let them pick what they want. This time, the delightful Miss C chose a Rainbow Layer Cake, with plain icing, and Smarties. Simple really compared the Pirate Ships, Thomas the Tank Engines, and Fairy Castles of birthdays past.

Once again, I used my trusty 69c cake mix from Coles, and yet again I had other parents asking me what type of cake it was, and if I had made it from scratch. All were shocked to learn it was the cheapest packet mix around!

To create the cake I simple mixed up 3 packets to the directions, and divided each in half. I then coloured each half batch, and baked 6 thin cakes. I assembled them by slightly levelling the tops with a knife as needed, and stacked them on top of each other, using a small amount of Butter Cream Frosting to ‘glue’ them together.

After layering them, I did a thin ‘crumb’ coat of butter cream. A crumb coat is basically an undercoat that collects any cake crumbs, and cements them so that they don’t show up in your main icing, and ruin its impact. I refrigerated the cake after the crumb coat to set it, then iced the cake and made it all pretty.

The Rainbow Layer Cake is such a simple concept, but has such wow factor. The small gasps that came from the kids when the first piece of cake was cut was amazing, and made the whole process so worthwhile.

PS: The Bunting cake decoration is simply coloured paper triangles, tapes onto some yarn, and help up by straws.

Comments
  1. Lady J says:

    Such a pretty cake!!! I love that you added smarties as toppings for the cake.

  2. [...] Rainbow High Tea Part 3: The Rainbow Cake (amultifariousme.wordpress.com) [...]

  3. six sisters says:

    This cake looks so cute and yummy! Thanks for sharing! We are so glad you came to another week of our fun “Strut Your Stuff Saturday”. Please join us again! -The Sisters

  4. Oh my this is such fun cake! My kids would love it, I’m just too intimidated by so many layers!

Leave a Reply

